signs and symbols: artists & allies

August 7- September 7, 2018

Opening Reception
August 7, 2018
6:00 - 8:00pm

For the month of August, signs and symbols presents a dynamic program of time-based work, screenings and performances. Conceived as an experimental glimpse for our upcoming season, a selection of work will be on view of artists with forthcoming solo exhibitions. Allies of the gallery will also contribute work and discourse. A weekly screening and/or performance will take place every Thursday evening at 7pm. Sound art will make an appearance in a live act, politics will be explored in a standup comedy night, movement and dance workshops will be followed by a sci-fi rap concert. Devised with the intent for dialogue, overlap and exchange, our summer program is not a singular position, but a multifaceted, open-ended alternative to a summer group show.

Participating artists include:

Michelle Handelman | Tony Orrico | Jen DeNike | Drew Conrad | Rachel Libeskind | Wermke/Leinkauf | Amy Khoshbin | Stephen Barker| KIWA | Jeewi Lee | Annabel Daou | Robert Wilson | Aaron Kary | Mike Clemow | Melissa Godoy Nieto | INNER COURSE | HEKLER collective | Meta Grgurevic | Stavro | Jovana Djuric | Matty Davis

and others…

Tony Orrico, Accelerated Image: Yvonne Rainer's Hand Movie (1966), 2014

 

performance and screening dates:

Wednesday August 22 | Annabel Daou| 5pm - 7pm

Thursday August 23 | INNER COURSE | 4pm - 9pm

Friday August 24 | Wermke/Leinkauf | screening 11am - 6pm

Sunday August 26| Melissa Godoy Nieto | 6pm - 8pm

Tuesday August 28 | Meta Grgurevic | screening 11am - 6pm

Wednesday August 29 | HEKLER collective | 6pm- 8pm

Thursday August 30 | Amy Khoshbin | 7pm

Friday August 31 | Robert Wilson | screening 12pm - 6pm

Tuesday September 4 | Stavro | 11am - 8pm

Wednesday September 5 | Jen DeNike | 7pm - 9pm

Thursday September 6 | New Sound Works & Experiments, Part I | 7pm

Friday September 7 | New Sound Works & Experiments, Part II | 7pm